

CONOR DALY WINS HIS SIXTH RACE OF THE SEASON -- FROM HIS 8th POLE OF THE SEASON -- AT ROAD AMERICA IN ROUND 11 OF THE 2010 STAR MAZDA CHAMPIONSHIP AT THE TIME WARNER CABLE ROAD RACE SHOWCASE

Elkhart Lake, WI (August 21, 2010) – Conor Daly, adding another layer of polish to an already gleaming season, won his 6th race from his 8th pole position in Round 11 of the 2010 Star Mazda Championship



presented by Goodyear at the Time Warner Cable Road Race Showcase at Road America. The Indianapolis native, who dropped back to 3rd on the opening laps but fought his way back into the lead by lap 5, survived a fullcourse yellow in the closing laps that led to a one-lap shootout and brought his #22 Juncos Racing / INDECK / The College Network / Merchant Services Ltd. Mazda across the finish line 1.5

seconds ahead of the Venezuelan racer Jorge Goncalvez who started 3rd on the grid in the #9 Team Apex / Wabash Capital Investments Mazda. Rounding out the top-3 with his first-ever Star Mazda Championship podium finish was Californian Connor De Phillippi, who qualified his #11 JDC Motorsports / *MAZDASPEED* Motorsports / Skip Barber Mazda on the outside of the front row, also his best-ever qualifying effort.

The top-finishing Expert and Master Series drivers were a replay of last weekend at Trois-Rivieres with Team GDT teammates J.W. Roberts (#65 Team GDT / General Data Tech Mazda and Carlos Conde (#31 Team GDT / Pronto-GMT / Olympus Securities Mazda winning their respective classes. Roberts' drive was

particularly notable as, in winning his class, he also finished 11th overall; he has now scored eight in-class victories this season and has clinched the 2010 Star Mazda Master Series Championship.

Norwegian racer Anders 'The Viking' Krohn, who qualified 7th and finished 4th in his #47 Andersen Racing / Norse Cutting & Abandonment / Trallfa / Colosseum Mazda, has not won a race this year, but has finished



consistently well and positioned himself so that he is the only remaining driver in the field with a chance





to keep Daly from winning the championship. With two races left in the season, and a maximum of 90 points to be won by any one driver (44 for the win and 1 point for pole), Daly has 457 points and Krohn has 388. And De Phillippi (5th in the championship) is leading the Rookie of the Year battle by a slim 10-point margin over Frenchman Tristan Vautier who is currently 6th in the championship with two wins in the #38 Andersen Racing / Moulin TP / Cecibon / Circuit du Laquais / Fontanel Mazda... but also several finishes well outside the top-10.

Pos	No.	Name	Laps	Diff	Avg. Speed	Best Tm	In Lap	Sponsor
1	22	Conor Daly	19		103.008	2:07.494	6	INDECK, The College Network, Merchant Services Ltd.
2	9	Jorge Goncalvez	19	1.561	102.949	2:07.657	7	Wabash Capital Investments
3	11	Connor De Phillippi	19	2.314	102.920	2:08.064	4	Mazdaspeed Motorsports, Skip Barber
4	47	Anders Krohn	19	3.501	102.874	2:08.189	8	Norse Cutting and Abandonment, Trallfa Industries, Colosseum
5	66	Rusty Mitchell	19	4.696	102.829	2:08.321	5	Motorola, Petro Comm.
6	28	Juan Piedrahita	19	5.716	102.790	2:09.231	9	Petrosur, GFK Motors
7	16	David Ostella	19	9.542	102.644	2:08.762	3	GP Global Precast
8	25	Tatiana Calderon	19	9.986	102.627	2:08.792	11	JAC Motors
9	31	Carlos Conde	19	10.995	102.589	2:11.334	7	Pronto-GMT, Olympus Securities
10	57	Court Vernon	19	11.514	102.569	2:08.837	10	Capt. Harry's, GDT
11	65	J.W. Roberts	19	11.634	102.565	2:11.425	9	General Data Tech
12	20	Carlos Linares	19	11.925	102.553	2:09.943	6	Instituto Nacional De Deportes
13	38	Tristan Vautier	19	19.809	102.255	2:07.952	4	Moulin TP, Cecibon, Circuit du Laquais, Fontanel
14	81	Nick Andries	18	1 Lap	102.430	2:08.316	12	Indy 500/ American Icon Team Pelfrey
15	37	Dom Bastien	14	5 Laps	109.451	2:11.123	9	Andersen Race Park
16	17	Mikael Grenier	13	6 Laps	111.703	2:07.829	7	Slow Cow, April Super Flow, NAPA Auto Parts, HS Telecom, Desharnais
17	85	Chris Miller	8	11 Laps	109.422	2:09.644	4	Miller Milling, Red Line Oil
18	55	Gerry Kraut	7	12 Laps	97.360	2:09.787	5	Dougherty and Co./Dougherty Funding LLC.
19	18	Joao Horto	4	15 Laps	103.297	2:09.429	4	Wabash Capital Investments, BomBril - Programa LeiLoes

This is the second event of a 3-race, back-to-back 'road trip' for drivers and teams in the Star Mazda Championship. The next event, Round 12 at MOBIL1 Presents the Grand Prix of Mosport will take the green at 1:15 pm Saturday, August 28. The series' finale, also with ALMS at the Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta, will take place October 1.

'=}={=

MoTeC



GOOD FYEAR

ROADIN



For more information on the Star Mazda Championship and its drivers, as well as the Mazda Motorsports ladder system, please visit <u>www.starmazda.com</u> and <u>www.mazdausa.com</u>. For information, interviews and photos, contact Star Mazda Communications Director Peter Frey at (818) 398-5733 or <u>StarMazdaPR@aol.com</u>.

On any given weekend, there are more Mazdas on the road-race tracks of America than any other brand of vehicle. At the track, you'll see MX-5 Miata, RX-8, MAZDA3, MAZDA6, RX-7 and other vintage Mazda models competing, because every Mazda has the Soul of a Sports Car. For more information on the various Mazda spec series, visit:

www.usf2000.comwww.skipbarber.comwww.mx-5cup.comDean Case / Communications Officer / MAZDASPEED Motorsports(310) 318-4582 / E-mail: MAZDASPEED@MazdaUSA.com(310) 318-4582 / E-mail: MAZDASPEED@MazdaUSA.com



2010 Star Mazda Championship Road America Results of Formula Mazda - Star Mazda Championship Race









MoTeC